May not destroy component StaticMeshComponent

Hi All,

Newbie here. Having been stuck with a seemingly trivial yet not-seem-so problem :frowning:

For my current project, I need to use cameras with Orthographic view instead of Perspective in order to achieve the ‘top’ ‘left’ ‘right’ ‘back’ view effects which are commonly seen in most 3D modeling software (ue4 has it too, obviously).

On top of it, the project also requires selected object to be highlighted. For most of the video or text tutorial that I could find online, they are mostly deal with the ‘Post Process Material’ which only takes effects with ‘Perspective’ viewing camera. If the camera is reset to ‘Orthographic’, the entire viewport would turn to the one pure color which is also the color set to the highlight.

There is one video tutorial that I found on youtube, it explained how to achieve the ‘highlight’ effect without using the ‘Post Process Material’. Here is the real problem comes in:

the logic of the blueprint that taught by the video is as follows:

add highlight: initiate the static mesh component →add new static mesh component → assign highlight material to the static mesh component

delete highlight: destroy the static mesh component with the ‘highlight material’ assigned.

All two events are written inside one blueprint which are called through Player Character with casting node towards this blueprint.

As I’m trying to adapt these methods inside my project, I got an error message from the ‘output log’ instead of the ‘message log’, saying something like this:

May not destroy component StaticMeshComponent /Game/Maps/UEDPIE_0_Level_1.Level_1:PersistentLevel.Structural_Framing_L3_2_200_400_1109.NODE_AddStaticMeshComponent-8 owned by StaticMeshActor /Game/Maps/UEDPIE_0_Level_1.Level_1:PersistentLevel.Structural_Framing_L3_2_200_400_1109.