Material UI Suggestion and Feedback

First, I want to say that I’ve been a 3D Artist for 15 years and currently an animation manager for an architect firm. I consider myself an expert with V-Ray and 3D Max. I also have experience with Unity3D for real-time walk-through animations and a number of other 3D software.

Second, I’ve always heard of the Unreal Engine but never used it outside of purchasing games developed by it. Last week I downloaded it after hearing of the free announcement and I have to say, Unreal is by far one of the best pieces of software I have ever seen. Hands down has amazing features for a real-time rendering engine. I’ve started creating an architectural scene inside of Unreal and it’s coming together much easier, faster, and looks ten times better than what I had in Unity. I’ve been a fool not using this software after all these years and I’ve been sharing my experience with as many artist that I can. Introducing them to Blueprint and removing their fear of programming. Thanks Epic!

With that said, my only feedback at the moment I can provide would be setting up the materials seems a bit more step-involved than most node-based interfaces that produces the same results. For example, in 3D Max there is a node-base material interface called “Slate Material Editor”. Regardless if I’m using Max’s standard materials or V-Rays, I can easily change common values without having to create additional nodes or think about a formula to give the proper mix. Such as the Diffuse texture in Max, if I want this to only apply 50%. I just change the 100% value to 50, right next to the Defuse slot. I do completely understand that this can be done by adding a “Multiply” or “Add” node in Unreal’s material UI, but I feel like they are extra steps into a common CG feature.