Manikin RPG - a graphically deprived gameplay project

Hi All,

This thread is for my personal side project, Manikin, an action-RPG. It is a very early WIP at the moment, but I’ll keep plugging away and we’ll see where it goes. I have no particular unique story, theme, or gameplay in mind for this, I’ve just always wanted to make an RPG and I like playing with Unreal!

My main plan is to forgo any serious graphics for the foreseeable future, and focus on blueprinting gameplay mechanics. It seems to me that without graphics, RPGs are just some numbers moving around, which shouldn’t be terribly difficult. (Ha ha.) My other, more vague main plan is to keep things more physics-based than they are in most RPGs that I’ve seen.

I’m very new to Unreal (about three weeks of fiddling at this date) so if you see me doing something stupid or have some critiques or ideas, don’t hesitate to let me know!

Manikin RPG Current Features:

Basic character movement:
– Mouse camera control and character rotation
– WASD movement relative to camera angle.
– Sprinting with modifier key (current jog speed about 6 mi/hr, sprint at 13 mi/hr.)
– Jump (very WIP at the moment)
– Sprinting and Jumping use stamina, but aren’t yet made to require it :slight_smile:
Basic HUD - stamina and health bars (both regenerate), and a reticle dot.
“Look-At” UI - shows name and stats of items under your reticle dot. Now also shows if either hand is in range to pick up the object.
A basic pause menu - just resume, quit, control list, and an empty options menu at the moment.
A basic notification UI - messages appear in a list and fade and disappear after a few seconds.
The beginning of an inventory system - [unused at the moment] a basic UI, picking up and dropping items, weight and value totals, item selection.
Physics impact damage
A simple upper body “skeleton” for your character, held together with physics constraints.