Making Trees more Beautiful

Hi Guys :slight_smile:
(Yeah i know its another thread about trees^^. But I think it would not hurt to have more threads about this hard topic)

As the Title says I am trying to make my trees more beautiful and interesting. I am not a great Artist so its not easy for me to make wonderful looking trees. I Googled and exercised a LOT. But at the moment I dont make a big progress.
So what is important at a tree to make it look beautiful? The shape? the leaves? the overall look?

Here are some pics of my newest Tree.Its an Oak. I put all my “tree wisdom” in it :D.
(I became a “Database Error when I want to Upload pictures. So Ill use share your photo.com”).
Album | Share-your-photo.com

I create the Trees with XFrog and then I make some extra things on it with Blender.
I would use Speedtree but I dont have a credit card.

It would be great if anyone could give me tips :slight_smile:

The tree mesh itself is probably fine. It’s hard to tell since the pictures are pretty far away from the tree, but I think working on the materials and textures for the bark might help.

Always helps to look at reference pictures:

8d10462eec5a0133e1e519190205f36ac47ececa.jpeg

This isn’t the same shape as your tree, but you can always look at real life examples. Your tree looks very smooth - in the image above, the tree bark sticks out. It looks rough and jagged. Try using normal and displacement maps for your tree bark. The leaves also look a little bit too shiny, IMO.

The bottom of the tree seems to be coming out of the ground too abruptly. It looks more like it’s going through a flat 2D plane than growing up out of the landscape. You could try making the ground less flat, putting some grass around the base of the tree, or making the base of the tree less flat and slightly more conic. Look at this one for example:

0d6ee6b93933dc3ec79dfc45c3d513bac0b865e6.jpeg

Little details like that go a long way.