Making Character models for Unreal

I’m fairly new to Unreal, and I’m trying to start a small game project using free assets and blueprints. My most immediate obstacle, however, is that I seem to be unable to import my character model to the project, as I keep getting error messages stating “Unable to merge Mesh”, “Different hierarchy”, etc. I have seen tutorials on Youtube that show how to swap default Unreal mannequin model by another character, but not how the character is made. I use 3DS Max for modeling, and I know from the Unreal website that it is a viable software. I used a regular Biped to rig my character, with the exception of 2 additional bones the shoulder pads. Does anyone know if there is some process to building a character for Unreal, some rules to follow, etc?

It looks like your issue is probably that those additional bones need to be linked to the rest of the biped, if your skeleton rig doesn’t have the same root object (in that they’re all linked together in some way) then it can’t import it.

seems to me that i remember that bones can only be added to the ends of the skeletons, not in the middle… like off the head, toes and fingers… but not off the shoulder, spine, neck etc…

You should be able to add them wherever you want, other bones would have multiple other bones attached, for example the hand bone would have 5 fingers attached.

are you having issues importing a new custom skeleton or are you trying to import onto existing epic mannequin skeleton?

there could be an issue with naming conventions but you should definitely be able to update the skeleton in ue4. I make small edits to my rig all the time (including adding bones (specifically twist bones to arms and legs)) and have had no issues with reimport.