Making a game with choices and consequences?

So recently I wanted to attempt to make a game where your choices affect how the game ends/what happens to the characters such as Life is Strange or Until Dawn. I’m using Ren’py to make it, since I want it to be in the format of a visual novel. The problem is, I have absolutely no idea how to execute my idea. I know the basics of coding and all that, but I don’t know any way to create alternate endings/scenes that isn’t complicated. If anyone could point me in the right direction, that’d be great.

…Unfortunately, if you’re using Ren’py, this seems to be the wrong place to ask - as this is the Unreal Engine forums.

THAT being said, no reason to not help - so while I’m not an expert, how I would tackle it is by “flags”. Basically, a given event enables a data flag, and later down the line you have the game check for these flags to make it happen.

Example: You get a choice. The choice can enable flags A, B or C. If you choose A, you go down path AB (that happens whether you chose A or B). If you chose C, you go down path C. In path AB, you get a choice that enables flags X or Y. If you choose X, it checks for flag A as well, leaving you with 3 choices in 2 checks: X and A, X not A, or Y. If you choose C, you get choices, so on.

Basically, think of it less as “a tree of choice” and more as “a path with detours” or as “sorting the player”.

Using flags is also very friendly for recursive pathways - for instance allowing the player to progress one way until they have something and they return later (or even next playthrough) because they couldn’t possibly have that flag on until then.

Examples in games where it works like this:
/!\SPOILER ALERT START FOR FOLLOWING TITLES: Mass Effect, Undertale /!\