Make object hover/bounce in mid air using Blueprints

Hi all

I am trying to figure out how to make an object ‘hover’ in mid air. I found a useful hover tutorial, but the component in the tutorial requires a floor/base underneath the object: Adding a Hover Component | Live Training | Unreal Engine - YouTube

I am trying to make an object hover in mid-air without requiring a base underneath. To clarify what I mean by hover, I mean a simple animation where the object bounces up and down in mid air.

I’m guessing it’s quite simple and that it essentially involves coding a start value and an end value on a Z axis on an Actor’s location, and making it loop, but I’m quite new to Unreal and I’m not sure how to go about this.

Thank you in advance for any help! If any clarification on this question is needed, please let me know.

Cheers
Matt

1 Like

313197-float.gif

6 Likes

Thank you, this is exactly what I was looking for!

I will say, though, that I modified my blueprints, which are applied in my EventGraph of my object. You will notice that I’ve used GetWorldLocation rather than GetActorLocation. I’m curious how you created your blueprints as Components seem to not allow Timelines?

1 Like

I did this in the level BP, but you can also use timeline inside a BP ( but not in a function ).

To clarify what I mean by hover, I
mean a simple animation where the
object bounces up and down in mid air.

Do you want to make a physics-driven component out of this so you can reuse it with other physics bodies?

If all you want is an actor bobbing about, ClockworkOcean’s approach is the way to go.

Hey, I just wanted an actor bobbing about so ClockworkOcean’s approach was perfect - thanks for clarifying!