Main steps to get a character ready for animation (+facial animation) in UE4

Hey guys,
Kind of feeling confused here with a lot of information I’m seeing online, and would like to know if I can get your help to know the direct path (well as much as possible) to get my own models ready for animation (+facial animation) in UE4 for a short film (NOT a game). I’m not new to 3D or Unreal, just to character rigging / animation.

I’ve been reading sections of the UE4 document, and some of the links in the pinned “Getting Started” topic, so first off thank you very much for that!
I’m learning, but the direct is process is a bit hazy to me. The more I read, the more I’m like…okay…so how do I start all of this once i have my character?

Please bare with me as the newbie in rigging here, but is this the process?:
1) Bring my character into Maya, and create a skeleton for it (which I have to learn how to btw, I’m new to rigging). Name all the joints.
**2) **Add…morph targets (which to my understanding are “controllers” added to the face in order to animate them in UE4) and adjust their “weight” in order to adjust the affected area each morph target has control over. Name all these as well.
3) Export character to UE4 (not even sure which format, fbx?)
4) Import in UE4 with skeleton & morph targets. I most likely won’t have time to manually do every animation, so perhaps buy some from the marketplace? and “retarget” them to my own characters? Does this seem silly? I saw the new control rig though, which definitely peeked my interest. Perhaps this would be best for custom poses?
**5) **Add the facial animation on top of these animations, which is the part where I’m even more lost. I saw some examples where the curves adjust the animations, but how do I even access this?

The first & very simple example I want to try out, is have my character stand/be idle, then proceeds to run and smile.
And again just to be clear, this would be for a short film, not a game