Main menu problems

Hello! I’m new in UE4 and I want to learn making games. I made a main menu widget with working buttons but there are few problems:
When I press on “Start” button my game resets. I moved the widget a little bit up. I can see how my character is moving, but the game resets when I press on “Start” and the main menu widget is still on.

Is your main menu being created in the same exact level that your normal game is in?

Try making an entirely new level and put your main menu in it. Then when you press start, set it to open the level that your gameplay is in.

EDIT: It occurs to me that you may be trying to make a pause-type menu? When you say “main menu” do you mean the kind of menu players use before they begin a game or the kind that players can freely access during play?

No, they are in different blueprints. No, not a pause menu, the starting menu.

Is the main menu being created in the same level though?

I’m in danger of getting a bit too basic here (sorry if so), but I’m just going to step-by-step this thing:

Go to file and select New Level.

Then, in the level blueprint of the new level, create your menu widget and add it to the viewport.

Then, make sure that the Open Level node attached to your start button has the exact name of the level with your game in it.

The name is the same and I can see the map when I move the mian menu widget.
I made a new level and a new widget, still the same thing, “start” button restarts my game.

I’m a bit unclear here. Isn’t the “start” button supposed to start a new game?

In the new level with the main menu widget, when you select start game, does it not teleport you to your other level with your game in it and then start the game?

EDIT: You can also take the old “main menu” widget out of your gameplaying level. It seems like you might still have it in there.

The start button is for “open new level” . Well the widged is over the screen, and under it I can see the game beaucase i moved the widget.