Made an Island in world machine - I think I am happy with it but now I need advice

Heres my first ever usage of world machine - I like it so far…

I have realized though, that the application seems to be for top down geology - which has one major flaw - Adding detail to horizontal facing items (cliff faces etc) is not very well catered to.

I take it if I want to add some seriously cool detail to make my island more real - I need to do something like get a mudbox or zbrush licence and begin carving it out after an import?

Also, if there are any improvements you think I could make withing world machine before doing something like that, let me know, as I am really new to the software and am learning it by messing around.

Thanks

Hello LeamDelaney,

The issue is a “height” map is simply having height data stored in it along the Z axis. So even if you carved horizontal details in software like mudbox it’s not going to work when you extract the height map.

Looks nice though, try a coastal erosion node to give it some beach.

Oh - I didn’t realise, what if I import to unreal from world machine, then carve it up with the terrain tools?

Adding some more tweaks now and will post an update!

Basically, you cannot have a vertex on another vertex along the Z direction.

http://8pic.ir/images/srs93pzkj8rrv4un8nxa.jpg

If you wanted to make tunnels you’d have to make holes on the terrain surface in engine but then you’d need to make the tunnel interior with 3D models. So nothing horizontal you can do to the terrain unfortunately. (for now)

Not even add things like rock faces? Hmmmm… How do we improve the terrains then?

This is my improved island :

Worldmachine uses height just like UE does. You can have a landscape just like this picture but if you want anything that sticks out above another part of the landscape you need to do it with meshes.

^ That.