Lyra Shooter Game

I was looking through the HUD etc and I like some of the widgets in use - can someone explain how I can find / navigate to code that directly (for example) updates the health bar - I tried using refernces etc and I get lost - I am new to unreal but not sw development so its more “how can I find out how they did that?” but I dont know how to go deeper into it, if that makes sense?

I believe that the Lyra Shooter Game is mostly made in c++, You can find that in the plugin folder of your Project. And find the weapon class and see how they applied damage to update the health bar :slightly_smiling_face:

*edit if you cant find an function for it in blueprints you have to go into the c++ code an change it to BlueprintReadWrite

Hello MtechMatt,

Using the reference viewer is on the right track. Another tool I like to use when ‘untangling’ these things is ‘Tools → Find in Blueprints’ that will allow you to search function names to see where/how they’re being used.

Zondyz does bring up a good point about C++ though, I think what you’ll find is that as you go up the hierarchy you’ll reach a point where the parent is a C++ class.

Since you mentioned you’re new to Unreal, Lyra is a bit like jumping in at the deep end. (But certainly worth poking at these systems)

Welcome to the forums!

2 Likes

Thanks for the warm welcome guys, and great information - I am going to try and attack it from the weapon damage side and then Find in Blueprints.

Ideally I want to take that health bar graphics etc as a widget, and move it accross to my own game - hence trying to see how they turn the static image into a working health bar is what I am trying to pick apart!

I will keep you posted!

Cheers

No, I am lost :slight_smile:

Looking at the damage apply they are using an ability or something as a health holder. Any tips welcome guys?!?

The must exist a BP or C++ function that is saying UpdateHeatlthBarWEidget(float health) type of thing?

Cheers