Lots of Giant Deforming Trees

Hello

I need to make a forest level with ~50 of these trees for a game I’m working on.
Imagine a forest with no ground, just trees floating in space.

Each tree is ~200m tall, ~20k triangles ( without foliage ).
I decided to divide the tree into segments for optimiziation purposes:

1. Trunk, 2. Branches, 3. Top

I need this tree to bend when an enemy jumps on it ( think monkeys ).
The branches will just break when collided with, so no bending here.

My current plan is to rig it like this:
4 bones with IK.

And then I add bone sockets ( no parent, no deform )
for each branch to get them to follow the Trunk as it bends.
The Top part is attached to the last bone of the Trunk.

1. Is this a terrible solution or is it ok?
  2. I also need the monster itself to follow the tree as it bends after it jumped on it, but I have no clue how to do it.

This is my first time going about something like this and I couldn’t find any reference online so links are also welcome.

Thanks in advance

That’s a lot of tris for what is essentially a cylinder.

Reduce the geometry like by 90% or whatever percentage you can without loosing details.
Aim for like 200 tris to a trunk.
Each Branch a max of 500 - verts, not faces.

It’s a horrible idea because you won’t be able to have more than 50 trees or so as skeletal meshes without a major performance drop.
You can double down on horrible when you consider the fact that really, the trees only have to bend and move when the monkey or enemy or whatever else is near.

If you only need 50 trees, you may be able to swing it.
If you need performance, you have to let each tree transform from an instance to a skeletal mesh based on proximity to whatever other actor.

I have a plugin that does this this foliage, but it may not cut it for your use case.
http://mosthostla.com/gamedev/dynofoliage/

You can check out the videos for a general idea of how it functions though.