Lost entire project!

Hi guys,

I am extremely new to this but seems something strange has happened. I was working on a project which I had saved and come back to multiple times with no issue. After a 3 hour session (that had just auto saved) I clicked the save button as I had before and exited normally. Came back to it a few hours later and the entire project is nowhere to be found! If I go into:

C:\Users\me\Documents\Unreal Projects\MyProject4\Content

I can find a .umap file and when I did a search in unreal projects I found a big list of what looks like autosave files and normal saves but no actual content.

Just wondering if this is user error (guessing with my noob level set to maximum it probably is) but I would love to find out what happened so I can avoid it in the future.

Thanks as always,

RB

-which engine version do you use?
-have you pressed “save all” before you exited the engine
-so when you open the project you cant see any content?
-you can restore some assets when you use the autosave files -> just copy them into the content folder :slight_smile:

THanks for the quick response. I am using 4.8.3 at the moment and yes I have been doing the save all after each session.

Its not actually showing in the my projects portion of the library tab of the launcher.

You mentioned I can restore some of the assets using the autosave files and excuse my noobishness but where would I copy those autosave files to in order to access them?

Thanks again :slight_smile:

RB

But can you see a uproject file in your C:\Users\me\Documents\Unreal Projects\MyProject4?
You just have to copy them into the content folder of your project -> C:\Users\me\Documents\Unreal Projects\MyProject4\Content :slight_smile:

Scuse the late reply. Yeah the project file was nowhere to be found only the save files. Either way I am going to put that one down to noobishness and move on.