Looking to teach UE4 to 16-year-olds, advice?

Hi all. I’m a secondary IT teacher and am about to start a semester-long subject for students who are around 16 years old. Traditionally we have covered hardware, networking, basic programming and game design using Gamemaker, but after discovering the recent changes to Unreal Engine (particularly blueprints) I’m keen to go down this path. Some of the students have not had any experience in computational logic so I have to keep things pretty simple.

My idea is to run 3 components:

1. Hardware and networking (putting together PCs, installing Ubuntu, etc)
  2. Level design (create a first person environment in UE4, no direct interaction)
  3. Visual programming (using UE4 blueprints to bring their environments to life and create some interactive elements).

I’m also hoping to bring in Oculus Rifts to allow students to step into their environment virtually!

My question is, how feasible do you think this is over 1 semester? Can I expect students to be able to build a basic environment (apartment size space) and develop interaction using blueprints? Any good starting points beyond the Unreal Engine tutorials (which are fantastic)?

Depends on how many hours per week they have for this. But I think you could scale the content of the course easily. The basics of blueprints can probably be explained and shown in an hour or two. Then you could go from there. See how fast they learn. Let them built an elevator, doors, light switches. To get an idea for the possibilities and features, I recommend you download and try all the levels from the Content Examples project from the marketplace.

Well, if you want my opinion:

I think that level design and blueprints are actually really easy & quick to learn. (Especially level design.) The hard part is making levels that actually look good, and blueprints that have usefully complex functionality. But as for learning the methods, that doesn’t take long.