Download

Looking for advice on a combo system

Hello all,

I am new to UE4 with the ambition of one day making a game that has a melee combo system similar to that seen in games like Dynasty Warriors, and some elements of Shadow of Mordor/Assasins Creed.

Mainly, I want the ability to chain together weak and strong attacks through different combo tree with a very fluid feel.
I would like to set this tree up in C++ via a custom linked list.

I learned how to fire animations from C++ for a montage, but It is my understanding that montages do not blend.

A very long term goal would be to let the player pick and choose different “attacks” (animations) to be assigned in their combo tree through some UI.

So I am seeking some advice on how someone advanced would set this up?

I have a few ideas:

Perhaps the intended animations themselves just need to be set up to match and be fluid when created? Then firing these from a montage would work?
– this is less ideal because I would like it if the player could mix and match these later on, which may look awkard without blending.

Somehow using many blend spaces and cached positions?

Thanks for your help.