Looking for a programmer to partner with

Hi, I’m a 3D artist and I’m looking for a solid programmer to partner with to create a game. I have enough experience to have realistic expectations on the amount of work required to complete a decent game but I’m confident that there are several game types that could be created by a solid two man crew. This is something I’ve been thinking about for awhile and I’m tired of wasting my spare time on random side projects. I currently have anywhere from 10-25 hours a week regularly, sometimes more, to throw into a project (I’d say 10 hrs minimum is ideal maybe 15).

I considered joining another project but most people seem to shoot big and are too ambitious for me to be comfortable volunteering my time. I’m not looking to make a MMORPG, RPG, RTS, or survival game. I am open to most other reasonable ideas as long as they are not too complex or something that requires lots of voice work. I believe I can make a “good-looking” game and depending on the game type, possibly a great looking game. Sound will definitely be an obstacle and something to consider before choosing a genre but I have stumbled upon some really good instrumental, classical, and swing music in the public domain which might be suitable. I feel that creating engaging game-play will be the real challenge as well as having achievable goals and a realistic project scope from the beginning.

Knowing what work I would need to be able to do as far as models, textures, rigging, animation, and UI stuff, as well as our sound limitations, my early thoughts for potential game types would be (also not knowing any limitations you might have on your side)

1. side-scroller (action, light puzzle)
  2. 2d fighting (street fighter 2, MK style)
  3. race/ car driving
  4. car battle arena
  5. 3rd Person flying shooter ( I don’t know if this one should be on the list…)