[LONG] How can I get into game development and improve?

Hi all.

Bear with me here, because this is going to be a fairly long post and I’m not really entirely sure how to explain my issue or the frustration I’m feeling, but I’ll try my best. This is my third time posting about this, but my previous posts were rather vague and less specific, and I feel it’s worth writing an entirely new post instead of just editing and completely changing the old one.

I’m a 15-year-old, solo (tryhard) developer, modeler, etc. and really trying to get into the game development industry. I have been learning UE4 and modeling/animation for a few years now. Because I work completely on my own, I usually either use marketplace assets or attempt to make my own. As a result, almost anything I make takes a low-poly, simple art style with non-human characters (typically inanimate objects) and in first person. For instance, a first-person game where you play as a narwhal (the only view of the narwhal you get is from first person, and all you can see is the horn - that way I wouldn’t have to do much modeling) and fight off floating heads, in a low-poly cave. It’s worth noting that the floating heads were not modeled by me, but by a friend. My lack of skill in 3D modeling really limits me here, which I think is my first issue.