local multiplayer game, player 2 running player 1's code, not sure what the problem is?

I’m building a small game for a class project and this is my first time using/learning unreal. It’s a small platform fighter with 2 players. The trouble I am having is that the attack animations for player 2 are running through player 1’s code. Because of this player 2 becomes locked in a t-pose animation until the level is exited. I currently only have two different characters for my game that I am spawning in between players 1 and 2.

Right now I have the player spawns within the stages (might move them to the game mode latter if I still have the time) and they work correctly, however once I try to reference player 2 in the code using either get player controller or get player character it doesn’t seem to reference player 2 correctly. I have player 1 spawned as player controller 0 and player 2 spawned as player controller 1.

I can’t seem to understand why player 2 is not being referenced properly. I’m not sure if maybe there is something wrong with the way I am using the get player controller with the player spawning or if it’s something else. Everywhere I reference player 1 I use get player character/controller 0 and when referencing player 2 I use get player character/controller 1. The reason I found out that player 2 controls were running through player 1’s controls was when I disconnected the movement controls for the player 2 character, player 2 would still move.

My attack animations are implemented within the character blueprints (again there is probably a better way to implement these) and each animation checks to see if the female or male character is either player 1 or player 2. This allows for the correct controls to be used for the right player.