Local Multiplayer Camera?

Hello, This my question, so go easy on me. Ok so I am creating a fighting game and I would like to make a Def Jam style camera, where all players are contained inside the view and the one camera simply zooms out or in to contain all of the players. I thought it would be simple, its not. I really just want a unified camera so I don’t have to do split screen for local Co-Op cause that’s lame.

Now now, before its suggested I have followed most of obvious the tuts that came up on the subject, but maybe are outdated because I have definitely followed along completely to no avail. I’m no super pro with blueprints, but I feel like this supposed to easier than this lol
Any help would VERY appreciated as this is actually holding up production! Thanks in advance.

One question to consider: do you want to position the camera or zoom the camera (or perhaps do a blend of both)? Those are two different operations.

Step one is calculating the bounding volume that contains all of the players. This is pretty easy in C++, but looks like you’re interested in blueprints. The basic algorithm would be:

• Start with a MinBounds and MaxBounds vectors
  • For each of your players:
    • Call GetActorBounds() on the player
    • If Origin - Extents is less than MinBounds, overwrite MinBounds (so: set MinBounds to Min of Origin - Extents and MinBounds).
    • Same for Origin + Extents being greater than MaxBounds (using the Max function).

Once that’s done, you’ll have two vectors that define the corners of a bounding box surrounding all of your players.

Next, we’ll want to position the camera so that it’s aiming at the center point of that box. We can calculate this point with MinBounds + (MaxBounds - MinBounds) / 2.0.

Presumably, with a side-scroller, you have fixed horizontal, vertical, and depth axes. The camera is going to be positioned “back” along the depth axis. We need to calculate this distance.