Loading a Game from the Main Menu ?

Hi, I am pretty new to unreal engine 4 but I have been working on a save and load function fro my game, Right now I have it working somewhat the user can save and load there position in-game using the pause menu with two buttons on it.

But I am trying to now Load it from the main menu to no avail (I know both the load and save work just for some reason not on the main menu)

Here is my load function

And an image of my main menu

I cant for the life of me now figure out why it is not working ?

I am new to unreal so any help would be great

Place your Open Level node at the end of your blueprint execution and let me know how that worked out.

Reasoning: It’s opening the Alpha level and none of the code after is being called, your menu widget is no longer loaded at that point.*

Edit*
Thought it was in the Map blueprint, corrected to reflect widget.

Sadly no luck, when i moved it to the end the level didnt even open (Nothing happened when I hit the button) updated image is included with the open level at the end

Also just to be clear the main menu is opened on its own blank level, not level_Alpha_Map

Hmm, well that could mean a couple things are happening, or not happening.

The casts could be failing, which I don’t see why they would be but try running some print strings from the fail execution anyway.

Another thing that could be happening, which I don’t think has been a problem for some while, is that the Slot Name in the game exist and Load game nodes may need to be typed in. A bug in a very early version of the engine didn’t recognize string inputs.

And finally a last question, does the map need to be open as you load, or would it be easier to open the map and load the variables and set positions on startup of the next map?

1 Like

I just implemented that same feature in my game last week.