[Linux] New C++ project spits out a text file. This is clearly a bug

So I’m just starting out and I began with a blueprint project, which was fine, and then tried to make a C++ project. Regardless of of which template I choose, the result of this seems to be the same: I click “create project” and it thinks for a little bit, then Unreal Editor shuts down and it opens a text file in Kate (my text editor) named MyProject.pro. I’ve pasted the first few lines from this file below (it’s a long file). After this, if I try to open the project from the launcher I get an unintelligible error message. Could anyone help me out here? Is this a familiar bug? Using Linux Mint 17.1.

# UnrealEngine.pro generated by QMakefileGenerator.cs
# *DO NOT EDIT*

TEMPLATE = aux
CONFIG -= console
CONFIG -= app_bundle
CONFIG -= qt

TARGET = UE4 

unrealRootPath=/home/fake/UnrealEngine
MyProject3RootPath=/home/fake/Documents/Unreal Projects/MyProject3

gameProjectFile=/home/fake/Documents/Unreal Projects/MyProject3/MyProject3.uproject
build=mono $$unrealRootPath/Engine/Binaries/DotNET/UnrealBuildTool.exe

args=$(ARGS)

SOURCES += \ 
	"$$unrealRootPath/Engine/Source/Developer/AITestSuite/Private/AITestSuite.cpp" \
	"$$unrealRootPath/Engine/Source/Developer/AITestSuite/Private/TestLogger.cpp" \
	"$$unrealRootPath/Engine/Source/Developer/AITestSuite/Private/Actions/TestPawnAction_CallFunction.cpp" \
	"$$unrealRootPath/Engine/Source/Developer/AITestSuite/Private/Actions/TestPawnAction_Log.cpp" \
	"$$unrealRootPath/Engine/Source/Developer/AITestSuite/Private/BehaviorTree/TestBTDecorator_CantExecute.cpp" \

etc. (this goes on for thousands of lines)