Line tracing for jump collision

So for a while now I’ve been trying to implement the ability for my character to defeat enemies by jumping on them a la the Super Mario games. My initial approach was to attach a hit box to the underside of my character. The problem with approach though, is that the jump hit box has responsiveness issues resulting in my character occasionally taking damage from jumping on the enemy. I tried a variety of things to improve the response time of the hit box but no matter what I tried, I could only reduce the frequency at which the player took damage and not eliminate it completely.

Because of I decided to scrap the jump hit box & take a new approach by instead using Line Tracing, following [][1] tutorial I found on YouTube. The problem though is that I’ve never used Line Tracing before and the tutorial is very basic, only covering how to set up the Line Tracing itself and not the more complex interactions between the player and enemy needed for the player to deal damage to the enemy without damaging themselves in the process.

Unfortunately, I don’t know how to set up said interaction, with the jump hit box it was simply a matter of calling up a reference to the hit box in the enemy’s blueprint as exampled below:

But how do I call up a reference to the jump line trace in the enemy blueprint? The line trace is set up in the player’s blueprint, and to my knowledge you can’t call up references to line traces because it is not a component. My initial thought about was to use a custom event but I’m not sure how to implement a custom event within setup:

Can anyone help me out with problem?

Help please?

Do you mean to call Receive Damage event? You can call Receive Damage on the enemy by the Hit Actor reference the same way how it was done with the cast to reference.