Lighting Recommendation For Beginner

Hi everyone. First post here, and I’m just beginning my journey into the world of Archviz using Unreal Engine. For reference, I work for an architecture firm specializing in large scale (talking tens or hundreds of thousands of square feet) work. For the last year, I have been part of an effort to bring real time rendering technology into our office - we’ve started out using Lumion, which has been a terrific program, but just not quite strong enough, or realistic enough for what we’re looking for in some instances. Enter Unreal Engine. Enough with the boring background… Here’s what I’m hoping y’all can help me with:

We’re doing most of our modeling for a current project in Rhino and Sketchup. The model materials are broken down in a way that makes them easy to control in 3rd party rendering software. (Ie. (RoomName)-Wall-Primary, (RoomName)-Door, (RoomName)-Door-Trim, etc etc) I’m hoping that I can continue this method for light sources and lighting interior spaces that have no exterior light. I’ve tried creating a material to use for a series of lights that has an emissive quality. If the light is in view, I can see the emissive light. The problem is when the light source is not visible, I still want the light face to light the area below and around it. What is the best way to go about this? I’m hoping this is a simple question, but I’m open to any and all suggestions which will help lead to the best results.

Thanks!

This is from the official documentation :

Emissive Glow or in UE4, Emissive Materials, give artists a very cheap and effective way to give the illusion that a Material is casting light when it really is not. Emissive Materials do this by allowing artist to push the values of the Emissive input higher than 1.0 which will push the Material into the HDR range, giving off a Bloom effect that you might see when looking at a very bright light source.