Light switch activated by trace+input?

Hey guys,

I’m not a coder. I have experience in modeling and animation, but no “under the hood stuff”. In other words: speak to me slowly.

Okay, my end goal is to look at a light switch and have it turn on with key input. I know I need to use a LineTrace (forObjects?), but haven’t even been able to get that to work. I followed the UE4 documentation to set this up:

I’ve created my own object type - because that seemed to make sense to me, but maybe it isn’t necessary? Anyway, I have this blueprint in my firstpersoncharacter bp exactly like the UE4 tutorial, but I’m not getting any indication that it is working when I test it.

I have placed a single box over my switch (that would be set to invisible render) and set its collision type to ‘LightSwitch’, my custom object.

Nothing is happening. What have I done wrong? Also, is there a better approach? And why does the space between my eyes hurt so much?

Alright, here we go. Pardon me if you need more explanation, on mobile. Would love to help more if you need.

I’ve made something like this before, so I’ll share how I did it.

1.) I wanted to not only to be able to turn on lights with an input, but also open doors, push buttons, etc. The best way to do this is to create a “base” blueprint class from which all of your intractable classes will derive. We’ll call this one, “BaseInteractableActor”

2.) In the BaseInteractableActor class, create a function called OnInteract. this function will be called anytime player presses the interact key when looking at an intractable object, such as a door or a light.

3.) Create a class that derives from this Base Class. We can call this one InteractableLight.

4.) Your InteractableLight class should have its own on interact function. Go ahead and edit it for your light and set it to where when the function is activated the light will turn on or off.