[Level Design] [Question] BSP vs Static Meshes, Wich one is better?

I’ve been toying with the engine a lot lately, creating some levels and even touching some BPs, but I have a question about level design and so.

I’m doing a simple game, top down (Diablo-ish style), open world, and I’ve been using the geometry from the editor itself to create the buildings and so on, filling them with props I make and that kind of things. But, obviously, creating the buildings in maya/3dsmax is easier for me, more options, but anyway, both are perfectly valid as I only use geometry for the basic shape of the building.

So my question is, regarding materials, performance, polishing, etc. Wich method is better?

Also, have in mind that I’m a total noob so don’t be too technic.

Regards!

I would recommend you to use static meshes instead of BPS due to those facts:

https://answers.unrealengine/questions/31627/mesh-vs-bsp.html

Static meshes are better, better performance and easier to create more detailed meshes. The only advantage of BSP is that it’s already in the editor.

A general related question:

As a third option, users can also convert BSPs into static meshes within the engine. Since this functionality exists, is there any performance or other drawback (beyond the ability to add multiple material channels in the 3D program) vs. simply importing a similar static mesh?

Cheers,
-D

On a static mesh in a separate program you’d be able to have more control with the UV’s, but on a BSP converted to a static mesh you wouldn’t.

Hi Nebuchaddy,

BSP’s are great for blocking out a level, however they are not ideal for final package/shipped products. However, you can convert BSP’s that you have utilized to static meshes to reduce their performance costs and keep your level in tact. Have a great day!