Legality of using modified celebrity names?

I am having trouble finding anything about this topic. So just thought I would ask here.

I am trying to find out if using a parody of celebrity names is going to get me in trouble :),
My characters don’t represent a human form of any kind.

Some examples would be.

-Dennis Miller / Dennis Killer
-Hillary Clinton / Pillary Clinton

I think the answer is its not a good idea, But just want to know if anyone knows more on the subject.
Thanks!

I think as long as your character doesn’t look like its unofficial namesake … you might be okay. I am no legal expert however so please don’t quote me on that. Cartoonists can get away with depicting real people in paradoxical situations and they sometimes get away with and sometimes not.

It would probably depend on the country of origin and what you are making these people do or how you depict them.

Under most circumstances you will probably be asked to cease and desist … but some may sue you … so it becomes a legal minefield.

If I were you, I would consult a proper lawyer and get proper legal advice in this matter and not rely on hearsay or supposition. Good luck.

Generally you need a bit more name variance than just one letter, but including a parody of a real world figure is both normal and legal.

Ready 2 Rumble: 2 featured “Mr. President” and “First Lady” as a parody of then President Bill Clinton and his wife Hillary. While it had legal rights to using the name Michael Jackson who was mocap’d for the game which is why he appears in the game with his proper name.

If your characters don’t represent or reference real life people, it doesn’t matter. There’s probably hundreds, if not thousands, of people named in the United States. You can’t have a copyright or any sort of legal right to a name that common.