Learning UE4 through simple projects

Hey all, my name is Jason Lavoie. By day I am a professional artist working at Ubisoft Toronto (currently chopping away on the ACU team) and by night / weekends / any free time I can find… I’m trying my best to learn UE4 and it’s awesome blueprint system with simple game projects.

The initial goal is to learn the in’s and out’s of visual scripting to create some simple game projects (like Pong etc.). Hopefully as I keep working on progressively “harder” projects, I can start prototyping some more original / personal ideas and see where that takes me.

So my first project I’m trying to complete is Pong. Nothing super fancy or super exciting, but I figured you gotta start somewhere… and as an artist with little background in coding, Pong has been a solid challenge so far :slight_smile:

Here is what I have so far… nothing to fancy:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1514937/ue4_pong_01.jpg

But here is where I have been having issues… more so just wrapping my head around the logic / calling out / referencing blueprints within other blueprints and here is where I’m hoping you talented people can help me out.

Issues:

Score System Updating

This has been the biggest hump I have faced so far and I’m sure I am doing something super wrong, so I apologize in advance for any weird / broken logic :stuck_out_tongue:

Right now I have created 2 functions (for Player 1 and Player 2) that checks to see when the “Pong Ball” is outside of play limits, if so it SHOULD add a point to the “winners” score… The problem is it’s not initializing when the event / function is called. Here is what I have so far:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1514937/Pong_BP_01.jpg

But when I set it up in the Level Blueprint (When F is pressed, trigger function ScoredP1) the score works properly…