Learning 3D modeling

Hey everyone,

I’m a student Software Engineering who is mostly focused on the programming part of software and apps. In my free time I like to combine my hobbies: gaming and programming. And I want to go step to the next level.

I’m a developer and programming is my kind of stuff but I would love to learn 3D modeling in a Blender or Cinema 4D. I’ve always had some difficulties with the 3D models and most of the times I use some free props from the marketplace.

My questions is: How can I learn 3D modeling easy, as a developer. I really love the low poly style and I would really like to learn it.

So how did you started learning 3D modeling and what tutorials did you use? I find it very hard to find some good tutorials and I’m searching for a Low poly tutorial for beginners.

Thanks for helping out.

If you want to step up your modeling skills, there are some helpful tutorials on youtube and vimeo. It depends on what program your using, but there are always many around. Make sure you get a good modeling base down and you understand ideas and techniques around high poly and low poly models, baking, etc. just to get a good grasp. Another option would be subscribing for Pluralsight for some helpful tutorials in 3D Modeling, Texturing, and Game Engines if need be. Lastly, posting on forums like this is always a very helpful way to meet new people and get help and feedback when needed and create contacts for future references.

hi,

i am also a software developper (LOB apps mainly) but with a big big interest in 3D for a long time.

i would say that the main issue you are facing is finding time, because learning and not especially 3d but learning in general can take a little
to experiment, study, understand … etc but not too much :slight_smile:

i don’t know C4D but i would definitively recommend blender, it’s powerfull, fast, lightweight and free !!!