Download

Learn C++ while learning UE4?

Hey everyone,

I’m a webdeveloper, so I have some programming experience. Mainly Javascript, Python and PHP. Now I want to try and create a game with UE4 as a hobby project to learn more about UE4 and C++.
I’m just wondering at what level you have to know c++ to start making a basic game with some custom code. Is it doable to learn on the fly, or is a lot of experience required to actually make custom code viable.

You already have enough coding experience most likely.
The challenge now is to learn what the various pieces of the game engine do.
Then with some grounding (watching YT tutorials etc), you can quickly start making stuff.

Question:
How much game modding or API work have you done before?

Delving into a game engine is like learning the mother of all API’s, but if you’ve modded before it’ll be easy.
Otherwise, it takes a while to get your head around the concepts in order to have sufficient insight to build things…

Examples…
Creating materials…
How to build a mesh or object that prevents players from walking through it…
How to animate something…
How to bounce an object around the screen and get it to react with the player…
How to make and animate a creature, spaceship or gun…
How to detect when a player triggers an event, arrives at a map point / shoots at something etc…

UE4 makes c++ much more like a scripting language, at least when writing project level code.

So basicly yes, you can learn on the fly and you don’t need to be a c++ expert to write gameplay code.

Generally you should learn a language before trying to make something big in it, though that isn’t exactly what I did. You’re probably familiar with Minecraft. I started coding mods and plugins for Minecraft before I even learned Java, and found that it was a great way to learn. So yes, you can learn as you go, or even learn from using C++ in Unreal Engine. Good luck!

Thanks for the replies,