Launch Character function only works in one direction

Hello,

I think I may be misunderstanding how the arguments for the launch character function work, simple as they seem. When I use the function to make my character dash to the right it works just fine. However, when I try to use it to make my character dash to the left by inputting negative velocity, the animation starts happening in the leftward direction but then stops and the dash happens, and only partially, to the right. I couldn’t upload a video unfortunately as the file was too big, so I hope this description is sufficient.

The attached photos of code show the custom events I am using to try to make this functionality work.

In case it is useful information, dash right is left shift + D and dash left is left shift + A. I also think I may be misunderstanding how to bind two simultaneous key presses to an action, so I attached photos of how I did that as well.

Obviously I’m very new to this!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

My computer has issues so I can’t click on your images, but to address some of the things you mentioned in your text:

-You wanted to know about binding to shift + button. Assuming you are using an action mapping, the correct way to do this is in project settings inputs. You can simply check a box to let it know that it requires shift as well as the listed button. :slight_smile:

-If your launching is inconsistent, you may not be overriding the previous velocity. The override check boxes mean that it sets everything to 0 first and then proceeds to launch your character with the exact velocity you input. If you don’t check the override boxes, then your current velocity at the time you launch your character will be taken into account (and may counteract part of it).