Large Static Meshes

I’m a former hobbyist who is starting up my own company, and have been toying around with the Unreal 4 Engine recently. My experience with mapping and modelling is pretty outdated - Quake and Counter-Strike engines a decade or two ago.

I noticed all the mapping done for the sample games on the Marketplace consist of massive and oddly-shaped static meshes. Pillars connected to rooftops, connected to windows - fractions of entire buildings cut seemingly it at random and conjoined.

I suspect this simplifies the graphics requirements since the only similarity I have noticed is that they might be on the screen at the same time.

Is most mapping created outside the engine now?

Presumably using modelling programs like Blender and 3DS, where smaller static meshes are made?

I picked up comfortable fluency with the U4E engine in a week of spare time (youtube tutorials) - but now that I want curved walls, archways, and domes - I seem to be missing an important step.

Thanks for the help! :slight_smile:

Hi Yvaelle and welcome to the UE4 community!

Practically all modeling should be done outside of the engine in a modeling program. UE4 has basic geometry meshes, but I would recommend these really only be used for prototyping. You do have the option to convert these BSP prototype shapes into static meshes which is certainly more efficient, but to get more specific shapes and meshes you’ll want to use a modeling program like Blender, 3Ds Max, Maya, or anything that can export an FBX or OBJ file type.

Feel free to ask questions anytime. There is a great community and staff here that are always willing to help!

Tim

And all the separated parts are a modular workflow, where pieces can fit together to make buildings of various sizes without having to use entirely new unique assets. It allows you to save on the amount of memory used.

Hi Yvaelle and welcome! :slight_smile: