Large scale networking - The neverending story

Hello!
I know I bring here a question which has been asked a thousand times, but the answers never satisfy me.

First, I am a programmer, and I have a team - It’s important to say it, because all the responses I saw was around that.

My Interrogation is:
We want to create an MMO game (our end-of-study project). We are currently questioning ourselves about which game engine we should use.
We made choices based on many things (price, open-source, scalability, community, etc…) and Unreal Engine is the one we like the most.
But, it is a real question about the networking thing. We saw a network part, but it is limited. It is not designed for a large-scale usage (hundreds/thousands/“unlimited” players on the same map).

The question is, does a solution exists for mmog network? Does somebody somewhere start to work on it?
If it really doesn’t exists, I’ll be more than happy to discuss about it with someone which know the engine, how it really works in the end and how such library can be done.

Thank for your readings!

For your information, we are a team of 6 developers, starting our 4th year of study and starting our end-of-study project.
Our ambition is to make an mmo game. Because we love programming, and we love games.
Many people around us are making games, but most of them work with Unity, or self-made Engine.
I want to say it is not like all the projects which are presented in this forum but we don’t know where we are really going,.
At the end of our studies, many of us want to continue this project and release it as a full game.
I am french and, maybe you don’t understand what I wrote, please ask me for precisions :smiley:

I bet you read a lot on this… but here is a small feedback
1 - You need to define what’s your target. Mmo can be target to be 100 player per “zone server” or 1000. This will help to get what you need as Network Layer.