Large amount of procedural meshes performance issue

I’m new to UE, I may have missed a simple fix for this.

I’m generating a procedural hex world, and I’m getting some pretty good results so far.

These hexes are made with procedural meshes because the hexes are all of slightly different sizes to make the map more interesting to look at.

This map is ~40x25 hexes, ~1000 hexes, ~6000 triangles

But when I scale things up to make bigger worlds, the game slows to a crawl.

This one is ~190x110, ~21k hexes, ~125k triangles

I have all the coordinates for the center and each corner of the hexes.

How I thought of fixing this performance issue:

1. I thought of doing a LOD to despawn the hexes further away to save ressources, but I can’t find how to do this for a procedural mesh, is it even possible?

2. Another option would be to take a single, large, flat rectangle mesh, and “paint” the hexes on it, but I honestly have no clue how to do such a thing.

3. Yet another option, which I do not know if it’s possible, would be to convert the procedural meshes into a static mesh after generation, I do not require the map to be altered during gameplay.

4. Resign to have a smaller map :frowning:

If anyone has a pointer on how to fix this it would be much appreciated!

Instanced static meshes, I would say.

Look into the “sections” in procedural mesh. You can decide to update just a specific section rather than the whole mesh which could be faster? If you’re using UE5 I’d recommend switch to UDynamicMesh instead.

Have you considered putting the hex instances into a hierarchical static mesh?

If you’re making a procedurally generated world, the #1 issue/problem is optimizing the world gen/modification so you won’t find an easy option. Your best bet is a combination of all of these but at a minimum:

1. Def make it into a static mesh if you don’t need to modify it. This requires some in-depth c++.