Laptop ideas? (Yes THAT question again!)

Well… I’m studying Game Development in UK. I have my desktop to do most of the demanding stuff on (which needs an upgrade soon but nevermind that for now).

Thing is that I want something to do my stuff in labs (can’t stand those PCs they have there) and also for vacation time where I won’t have my PC around.
The laptop will be used mostly for prototyping in UE4. I won’t need shaders/high poly models/huge textures most of the time, but I want to be able to start prototyping stuff/building the basics without much problems.

Other stuff I’ll use it for is 3d modeling/texturing/animation, using programs like Maya/Daz/Motionbuilder/Zbrush (not anything in the billions of polygons, just enough to get a basic high res to bake maps from/Substance designer/painter and photoshop. I’ll also use compilers and stuff but I guess if it can run UE4 it’ll be able to run Eclipse or VS.

The thing is that I have around 1k euros for it (bit more bit less depending on features) and I’d like it to be easily portable (not 5kg alienware), to have a good heat management system (I don’t want it to turn off when testing a level for example) and hopefully to have a good anti-glare screen minimum of Full HD. Good battery is not a must but I’d like it.

I can give more info for the full range of programs I’ll use if needed, just ask for it. I tried to put the most important and heavy programs i’ll use here.

What i’d really like is one of those 2in1 tablet/laptop thingies like Surface, but i’m pretty sure HD5000 won’t cut it so I thought I’d ask for a laptop instead.

PS. Also no Mac please.

Something like this ?

Acer Aspire V Nitro VN7-792G-74Y9 (NX.G6REV.005)

Windows 10 Home
Intel Core i7-6700HQ Quad-core 2.60 GHz
43.9 cm (17.3") 4K UHD (3840 x 2160) 16:9
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M with 4 GB
Dedicated Memory 16 GB, DDR4 SDRAM
1 TB HDD + 256 GB SSD

I personaly would build a Mini PC. :slight_smile:
All you need is a TV to plug in.