Lakeside. An Oculus Supported Horror game (for college)

Hi

I’m a student who must design a 3D game using UE4 for my next project, I have 13 weeks to design and build the game. I’m not bad at writing short stories so I decided instead of just building a small level I shall build a working demo of a project my class and I proposed at the beginning of our academic year. This game must be 3D and use at the very least two cameras as well as additional inputs.

The premise of the game is a Horror game set in the UK location of Lake Windermere. The game will be a psychological horror using embedded narrative to tell a story while the main character solves some simple but well hidden puzzles in order to discover more of the story and escape the island in the lake while running from creatures which may or may not exist, fighting a constant feeling of impending doom.

you should make it a oculus game it would make it more scary

I like this idea, I like the way the creature may not exist or may exist, nice concept :]

Here are some level concept maps for the island. Soon I will upload some concept art for the game assets, the game will be centered on the island in the lake, with a cut scene depicting the main character rowing to the island. the game will focus on exploration, with some highlighted items to pick up before a final cut scene to end the game. The game will end as soon as the necessary items are picked up, with exploration only necessary to show the player the embedded narrative.

Update: The latest build of the game. Currently I have sculpted the island and surrounding environment, and painted textures onto this landscape. I have a main character model set up and ready to add animation to and have begun to build key features, the cabin and surrounding areas.

Once this is done I shall begin adding environmental assets.