lack of content?

Hi, i have recently started to use UE4 but i can’t really make anything but empty rooms with stock textures because i have no items and everything costs so much to buy :confused:

im currently a student so i don’t have much money (none to spare on UE4 content) and i was wondering if there is somewhere that i can get free items such as trees, chairs, textures, shelves, barrels, foliage and other stuff to fill out a scene because in the marketplace there is virtually nothing free.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

there is quite a lot of free stuff(including some of the things you mentioned) in the learn tab of the launcher. you could also take a look at the community content section of the forum, there is many threads with free stuff like 's foliage starter pack.

hope that helps:)

Thank you! im new to the forum and stuff so i didn’t know there was content to get on the forums, thank you that did help very much :slight_smile:

Hi Flanelman, without funds, content will always be issue unless you develop skills to make it yourself. I learned this hard way. I picked up a FREE copy of Blender3D and now I’m learning modeling and animation. Its extremely powerful software, easy-to-use, and there is a plythora of tutorials out there for it. I’m actually having fun, and just learned how to add materials and texture last night. Imported the FBX with no problems. Practice makes perfect. Good Luck.

Turbosquid has some great 3D models for free that have an extended royalty free license.

Thanks man i’ll have a look into it :slight_smile:

Also, i just downloaded a file with some models in it, does anyone know how to upload them into an existing project?

Either Import them, using the Content Browser,in Unreal Engine, or copy-and-paste them into your project using Windows Explorer and (re)start Unreal Engine.