Knowledge Base: Can You Remove World Partition From a Level?

Can you remove World Partition from a Level?
Article written by Joe R.
Simply put, no, once a level has been converted to World Partition, you can not revert it back to a normal level, or World Composition level.
If y…

https://dev.epicgames.com/community/learning/knowledge-base/n1l6/unreal-engine-can-you-remove-world-partition-from-a-level

5 Likes

Yeah, So unfortunately you can’t convert the Map back to levels. So the trick is to if you have started with the open world temp or just did not make a backup. You will need to turn your assets into a packed level actor. This will allow you to make a new map with your assets, but the terrain will have to be remade. In order to turn your assets into a packed level:

** First Select all your assets (Do not select any WP data, editor may crash), Then right click and find level.

**Finally, select Packed level asset (I tried doing a level instance, but editor crashed, so this way worked) Now you should be able to have a new level with all your assets. Downside is that you will have to re-create the terrain. Hope this worked for you

2 Likes

so tl;dr is you cant switch back and you’re stucked with bugs and whatnot, yeah no thanks, back to ue4 then, why implement such an annoying (unloading bug) system in the first place???

1 Like

tl;dr; make backups before making big changes. You’re doing this all the time, right?

2 Likes

The editor crashes when copy / pasting default level content.

To revert in-between different environments it should be possible to copy content from a default level to a world partition and vis versa.

Simple solution, just copy everything and paste it in an empty world (Everything but 2 things which were made by partitioning a world)

-World Data Layers and World Partition minimap.

If the problem is because things aren’t loading in, you just gotta select a big area in the minimap and tell it to be always loaded, simple as that.

3 Likes

You can’t remove the world partition once created. However there is a work around.

Do everything that @Blaze_Redraw said.

In Landscape sculpt mode

  1. right click heightmap layer and click import from/export to file…

  2. Select Export

  3. Tick Export Single file and Heightmap

  4. Then tick all the layers you want and set a file location and name (3 dots)

  5. Export and reload the landscape and layers from the files you saved.

1 Like

Going to add to this discussion here from the perspective of a UX designer,

The usability of Unreal Engine could be improved if there was a tooltip, warning in the console, or something equivalent that happens after:

  • hovering over the disabled delete button on the world partition (maybe use a tooltip?)
  • trying to delete the world partition with the delete key (maybe log to the console?)

The reason why it is bad usability to not give the user feedback here is because there is no way for a user to gain the correct conceptual model of how the world partition feature works without explicitly giving them text to read. And without a working conceptual model, there is no way for them to know why they can’t perform the action they are wanting resulting in confusion and frustration.

1 Like