Knife throwing, stick into things

Hi all, complete noob, long story short, is there an obvious way to make the knife that i throw, stick into things? im not even sure where to start, anyone got a tip?

If it is a static object, you can get the location and rotation where the object hit using a single channel line trace, destroy the thrown knife and use the hit info to spawn a new knife mesh in a stuck-in position.

If it is a character, you also need use the line trace to find out what bone you hit, and attach it to that, so it sticks in but moves around as the character runs away/falls down, etc.

Thanks Jez, cheers. (i know it wasn’t much info… didn’t actually know what to ask…)

where do i put the single channel line trace? i was just going to say im having issues getting a reference to the default scene root , (i can only get a reference to the version that takes a parameter) im looking at this video
i was putting it on my knife… then i just started thinking i might be in the wrong place to start with.,.

edit: how do you know if its a static object? i presumed it was cause it has a StaticMeshComponent, inherits from Static Mesh Actor

In that video,… the LineTraceByChannel that he is using isnt on another object… its a tab by itself. im struggling to get the right terms here… but i cant see how the trace he is making/modifying is related to the spheres that are using the linetrace he is making.

pretty sure that bit is the missing bit in my head.
how is the tab with workflow that he is changing referencing the spheres…

omg omg i put it on me… i think i get it know. am i right?