King of Retail

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

I have been working on a project for 4 months, putting a lot of hours into it everyday. I have no education concerning game making or anything in that area, but everything i have learned over the past 3 years is purely from online tutorials. However i have done 1½ year of physics at university level, where the maths have been really helpful to know here.

So to get it out there, and to maybe inspire others who started out from the scratchiest of scratches, to show that with lots of effort, it can be done without inventing tonnes of dollars while doing it. Everything in the game is made by myself (Except for some of the useful starter content materials from UE4).

I have been a Store Manager at a retail store beforehand, and my interest in maths, made me wonder what decisions people made when shopping, and if it could be explained in maths, and along the road the project grew bigger and bigger.

The game is (at the moment) going to be called King of Retail)

It’s set in 3rd person perspective, where you take on the role as a Store Manager in a town. Currently i have implemented following:

• City Standards. The cities vary in size, overall wealth, fashion sense, desire for luxury items, varoius article needs, and different patterns for when the shoppers are busy and not which is stationary throughout a store session.
    Then there are brands and colours that are in or out of fashion, which can be manipulated to some extent by the manager, and also evolve based on events in the city.

• Store brand and reputation… The customers decide if they want to enter your store, based upon your reputation in the categories they need, and on how much you have done to make your store look good, with different store fronts and the looks on your interior.
    And of course the basic things as choosing name, logo brand colours.