Keep Inventory on Death

Hello,

I am trying to figure out how to make a mod for a dedicated server (Linux if it matters). Specifically one that allows players to keep their inventory when they die. I couldn’t find an option in the game configs so I’m guessing it’s not possible without a mod. I suspect it would have to do something like remove the inventory from your most recent dead body and put it back into your newly spawned body. But I have no idea how it works so that could be way off.

I’m a programmer but clearly I’m missing something somewhere. I’ve read some guides, watched tutorials and read docs and just don’t see any way to do what I’m trying to do. Everyone seems to be just copying existing assets and clicking things in the interface to change their values or whatever. I’m guessing what I want to do has to be coded somehow but I’m not sure how to go about doing that. Should it even be possible to make it keep inv on death? Can someone please point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Hi,

The Inventory is a component of the pawn, it should be called something like ‘Primal Inventory’. I think what you are looking for is to move this component over to the PlayerController or PlayerStatus blueprint So that when the pawn dies, the inventory will be saved (like lvl & skills).

Hello,

Thank you for your response! I really appreciate it. I will give it a shot and see if I can figure that out.

I found a PlayerControllerBlueprint and PlayerCharacterStatusComponent_BP but I can only edit Components on PlayerControllerBlueprint. There aren’t any levels and skills in there though I don’t think.

I can copy in the PlayerPawn files and edit their components and see a PrimalInventory1 and PlayerCharacterStatus there. Since I can’t edit the PlayerCharacterStatusComponent_BP components maybe I’m supposed to make a graph there and put it in there? Do I even have to do anything with the graph? Sorry, I’m just a bit confused how it all works still.

Thank you!