Kart Racer Projectile behavior.

Hi, I’m working on a fun Kart Racer project at the moment. I’m relatively new to unreal engine and visual scripting but I would say my skill level is intermediate.

I wanted to make a projectile similar to how the green shells operate in Mario Kart.

This would be bouncing off steep > 70 degree walls while climbing or descending anything less than this and maintaining all X/Y axis velocity until it either collides with another destructible or bounces a certain number of times.

I have the projectile spawning from an arrow attached to my player pawns forward orientation at a speed that will always be greater than the players max speed.

The projectile itself is using the static mesh shape_taurus that comes with the engine for the time being.

To this I have added the following components;

ProjectileMovement,
Rotating Movement,
InterpToMovement,
Physics Constraint,
Sphere Collision.

While some of these may not be needed for the behavior I want for this example I do want a master projectile object that will act as the template for the behavioral needs of all of the other projectiles that I add to the game.

I have not done any scripting for it so far as most of the functionality I need is already included in these components. However I have been unable to limit the Z axis movement of it. Currently the projectile will bounce in any axis keeping the momentum in whatever angle it bounces. Limiting it’s Z axis movement would stop it climbing the various heights of the level. Would I be correct in assuming I need to use walkable slope behavior for the object to decide whether it bounces or climbs? How to I get it to stay close to the ground and unable to bounce off it while maintaining it’s X / Y velocity? Also would I better off using the static mesh for collision detection or would the sphere be more efficient?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.