JavaDoc vs. XMLDoc for C# code

Hello everyone,

I’m rather new to the Unreal Engine 4, especially to its source code (as I’ve only played a bit with the UDK in the past), and I was wondering about the inconsistencies with the JavaDoc vs. XMLDoc comments in the C# code.

Stated in the docs:

This confuses me quite a bit as there is probably an equally amount of code which is documented with JavaDoc and XMLDoc.

Are the XMLDoc comments going to be ignored as the classes and methods are not essential to the code documentation?

I’m a little bit in the middle of extending the BuildTools and as veteran .NET developer I’m used to XMLDoc, which is what I wanted to use for the class and method documentations. Now I’m wondering what one should use: JavaDoc or XMLDoc?

If JavaDoc, then why? Isn’t it possible to extend the docs generation by a tool/library like Sandcastle (this is a fork, the original library was developed by Microsoft but is discontinued, the fork is still under active development) which can parse XMLDoc just fine and **** out proper results? If the docs generation tool/code is even part of the repository then I’m happy to add support for XMLDoc if it’s not already in.

To be honest I’d rather pick XMLDoc over JavaDoc, at least for the C# code (no idea about the C++ code), to get proper IntelliSense/IDE support.

So what is up with that? :slight_smile:

I can’t believe that there is no opinion on this topic, really. Anyone from Epic?

What C# code are you talking about? The build files?

He is talking about the tools written in C#, not the build config files.

I think one type of the comments is for consumption by the custom doxygen tool that is not available to us, and one is for editor supported documentation (hints).

Well, if Epic would make their custom version of Doxygen available to us then one could implement XMLDoc parsing, which would help everyone. I’m pretty sure one could also extend the editor feature to parse XMLDocs as well.