It's been almost a year since GGPO went open source... How come no information about integration?

I’m very surprised that so long has passed, and there’s still absolutely on information about integrating GGPO in to Unreal Engine.

It seems to be that it would be just 2 primary steps to get it working well.

1. How to get UE4 to perform deterministic.
  2. Actually integrating GGPO in to UE4 and using it rather than UE4’s built in networking.

GGPO itself is pretty basic. But getting it working in a game engine seems to be a completely different story.

It’d be great if the community comes together and figures out how to solve this problem, as several major developers seem to have already done so. Again, I’m just surprised that the community has been silent about this. Stronger peer to peer networking just seems like it would be an obvious thing for the community to work towards!

I’m a pretty experienced multiplayer programmer for UE4, and personally I can’t think of anything worse than trying to replace UE’s (very good) networking architecture with a third-party API.

It also doesn’t make much sense to me - UE already has everything you need, you just need to build a rollback system. For an experienced gameplay/multiplayer programmer that’s not overly challenging - but it is pretty game-specific, which is probably why there isn’t a widely-available plugin for it.

Determinism is another discussion altogether, but I doubt that would be neccesary.

1 Like

The GGPO author thinks very highly of his system!
It turns out, in practice, it’s not as general purpose as he would want.
Specifically, it requires not only that simulation is deterministic, but also that it is cheap enough to re-run many steps of simulation every frame.
This is true for 2D fighting games, for sure, and may even be true for 3D fighting games that only have two characters and perhaps some scripted breakable props.

It’s not true for a general purpose rigid body simulation, though.