Download

Issue importing skinned mesh with wrong materials on some polygons.

I have imported a skeletal mesh and for some reason im getting very odd results. I am new to unreal so forgive any ignorance. The mesh uses several materials and for some reason it is exporting it with weird errors. For instance if you notice the screenshot… a couple of polys along the waste have the hair material applied to them… when they are skin material inside maya. wtf? … same thing with a some eyelashes… one set of eyelashes is correct while another is set to an entirely different material. It makes no logical sense to me. Any ideas what is happening here? again see the screenshot…

-have you applied the materials to the right material slots in the engine?
-are you 100% sure that you have applied the material to the right vertices? -> just check it again :slight_smile:
-could it be that there is probably something in the mesh which will be visible in the ue4 -> e.g a cloth part that is overlapping with the character mesh

Its maya… i dont know how else to apply a material. You select the polygons… and right click on the material and hit apply material. Pretty straight forward. It comes in correct in unity3d. But not in unreal 4. I have nothing special in this… nothing overlapping… its a character… with several materials… on the same skeleton all in 1 mesh. Makes no sense to me. I made the jump to unreal thinkn this was going to be easy…since it works in unity3d but so far im frustrated… I cant even get a model in the engine correct.

If it helps, before i bound it the material used to be multiple meshes that were merged… … at that wasteline combined then merged the verts… then bound to hte skeleton after… no history… And this issue occurs other places. like hte eyelashes… Part of hte eyelashes… like literally the back face of one eyelash has this issue and the flipped side has no issue. All the eyelashes both sides share the hair material in maya.