Is Unreal optimised for complex scenes? (Pics inside)

Just wondering if Unreal is suitable for doing complex scenes with lots of detail like the attached images. This is only one level of a 46 storey high-rise! and the boss is thinking maybe we could go down the VR route and put some of these highly complex models in Unreal. I’ve only every done simple residential house scenes – and I can already see how big of a job something like this is by cleaning up from Revit and optimising. That’s before I even consider Unwrapping. Is this just because I’m not experienced enough or is it something that isn’t achievable in Unreal?

With real time engines, generally you want to cheat as much as possible, hiding things that aren’t currently visible, merging things together that share the same materials textures, reusing textures and meshes that tile, etc.

For a project like this, how you approach it really depends on how the scene is going to be used. You might have a separate model for viewing the building from the outside and the inside. UE4 does a great job at instancing and culling so you can get away with complex scenes, but you have to be smart with how you approach them.

I agree with ZacD. It depends on the project and if you need photorealism or not. Right now I’m doing the Neue Nationalgalerie in ue4. The max model has 4700 objects. It’s too heavy to import separately (with 16gb of ram at least) and would take forever to build in HQ. Since that particular building is very wide open, i’m going the full dynamic route. I’ll try to cheat to make it look good. It’s possible if you use clever camera shots, I think. The new planar reflection actor is a huge bonus in this case because the whole building is made of glass and steel.