Is This Lag Usual?

Hello everyone,
I’m new to networking of Unreal, and i’m kinda confused about certain things. This is what i’ve been experimenting with:

When Client launches itself using a (Run on server) Replicated function, there is a noticeable lag once it happens. By my understanding of ue4, what happens is that client sends a request to the server to launch, and the server responds back. I know sending in and out of the server takes time but what confuses me is that this is the only network function i’m using and it’s slow…

This approach to launching character is probably not correct, So i wanna know what to do for such important gameplay elements that should happen instantly…

What I would try first is using a Print Text function in place of the Launch Character to make sure it’s actually executing in a timely manner and the delay you’re seeing isn’t just something quirky with the Launch Character node.

Are you experiencing this lag while playing in the editor?

I just made a simple FPS using C++ and everything is instant and fine with client movement no lag at all, its only with this launch node. tried the printing you mentioned as well and it works fine.
by lag i actually mean some kind of a jittering, like the player wants to jump for a moment, but stops for a fraction of a second and then does it…

This is a great question - and you are totally correct that the server should be authoritative for key gameplay elements like movement and death.

But as you experienced, you need to jump on the client for locally controlled characters as soon as the button is pressed or everything feels laggy and wrong.

So the general approach would to start jumping on the client immediately, notify the server, and then reconcile the position overtime.
When the client and server are out of sync, the best approach is to reconcile this difference overtime (error correction.)