Is this approach possible with C++? (types from C#)

Hi, I’m new to UE4 and C++, until now I’ve worked with Unity and C# for indie development. My problem is that I’d like to replicate the state machine I use for my characters in Unity. I find it useful and versatile to work with Type in this case, but I’m having a hard time with it in C++.

Dictionary<Type, State> _states = new Dictionary<Type, State>();
private State _state;
public float timeOnState = 0;

public void SetState(Hashtable args = null, System.Action<System.Action> callback = null) where T : State, new()
{

if (_state != null)
    {
        _state.OnStateExit();
    }
    timeOnState = 0;
    State state;

if (_states.TryGetValue(typeof(T), out state))
    {
        _state = state;
        if (_state.character == null)
            _state.character = this;
        _state.OnStateEnter(args, callback);
        return;
    }

var t = new T
    {
        character = this,
    };

_states[typeof(T)] = t;
    _state = t;
    t.OnStateEnter(args, callback);
}

I have tried templates and it works fine when calling SetState<MyState>() but the problem comes when trying to store the types themselves in order to reuse them if they have already been created.

I know I could forget about types and use an enum to identify states, and a factory to instantiate them when needed, but I’d like to learn if this approach is possible.

Thanks

It should definitely be possible. With vanilla C++ it would be harder but not impossible, so since you’re trying to do it in UE4 I’ll skip this bit. A lot of the parts that you’d have to manually build to make it work are already provided by UE4’s framework.