Is this a reasonable way to handle character data by reference?

I use some generic struct FDataStruct to keep track of all character data: name, HP, inventory, and so forth. I’d like to curate the data for every character in the game in a single, centralized TArray, and only give characters spawned in the world an int ID they can use to find their character’s data in the list.

The easiest way to manage IDs seems to be to make the index of the array in which a character’s data is held their ID, so you could access it from anywhere in the game by calling LogicActor->CharacterList[ID].

What I’m wondering is, is there any reason not to do it this way? Assuming I stored a copy of the index inside the data struct (so I could rebuild the list if an index accidentally gets deleted), I’m not seeing a downside to this method, but as I’m self-taught and still a very basic programmer, incredibly obvious stuff has a habit of not occurring to me. :slight_smile:

I believe you are looking for: A new, community-hosted Unreal Engine Wiki - Announcements and Releases - Unreal Engine Forums

Hmm, are data tables really appropriate for runtime data though? This isn’t something that will be consistent, characters are constantly being added, referenced, and/or futzed with as gameplay proceeds.

There’s no reason to do that, which means you probably shouldn’t do that. See KISS principle and YAGNI .

You’re are adding unnecessary layer of indirection, and you’ll need to use it everywhere, at any point where you’re trying to do anything with your character’s data.

Frankly, I don’t see the point. You haven’t listed any requirement that would require this kind of design.

Im interested in this question as well, what you guys can say about datatable and structs in it.
Lets say i need to handle data table 300 rows, each with 5 structs and each struct is a struct :confused: