Is there any decent free character creation and modelling software?

I am new to UE4, and lack the money to pay for 3Ds Max or Maya…
I would, however like to try my hand at 3D modelling and animation, Is there any free 3D character modelling / animating software that I could use?

Blender is typically what you will want to use for free 3D modeling software.

Not sure if modelling experts would agree with me, but it seems difficult to learn modelling without formal instruction(college). And then, blender has a bit of a steep curve, but once you learn one tool, the others are much easier to understand.

But blender is an excellent tool, and free. There aren’t any real (free) alternatives to it.

If you are still studying, you’re eligible for Autodesk education program:
http://www.autodesk./education/home

Keep in mind however, that you can’t use educational licenses for commercial purposes.

Otherwise, learn Blender and keep fingers crossed that the 10k euro grant that Epic made to Blender foundation will result in better Blender->UE4 workflow in future Blender versions.