Is there a quick/easy way to displace a mesh?

I’m very new to UE, but do have some experience in 3dsmax from ages ago. I’m trying to simply displace some geometry, a plane in fact. The plane has to be high enough resolution to suit the map, but I could in theory just create the plane in 3dsmax and bring it into UE if that’s easier. In 3dsmax it takes 10 seconds, but I’m just not seeing any straight forward modifier or setting for a height/displacement map related to geometry.

My maps at 640x640, 16-bit greyscale pngs. Textures, normals, etc are not important. I merely trying to displace and light the geometry with a flat, grey material. I saw some tutorials online, but they were don’t so many steps in the blueprints. I figured it would be good to ask here before building what seems like a complex blueprint for what seems like should be a simple thing.

I did come across Landscapes, and in theory a landscape seems to simply be a displaced plane in some sense, but I was having trouble resizing it to make it usable for what I want.

Any suggestions or pointers to the right direction is much appreciated!

@wedouglas1 I think you need to deform the mesh before you import into UE. Also, it’s possible to import with heightmap:

@wedouglas1 Basically UE wants you to make the whole thing internally, hence the difficulty here…

In the material for the mesh you would plug in your height map into the World Position Offset input, which would use the existing vertices of the mesh and displace them. Alternately, you can use the World Displacement input which uses a tessellation value that automatically subdivides the mesh on the GPU.